Skip to main content
hannahFC
Explorer
August 26, 2026
Solved

Apricot Connect Archiving vs. Disabling Participants & Participant Types

  • August 26, 2026
  • 4 replies
  • 38 views

Hello,

I’m trying to figure out the best way to manage Connect participants/participant types. We have a cohort-based program, and an alumni program. We typically register all of the women in one cohort into a “Cohort X” participant type. When women graduate the program, we’d like to move them to the general “Alumni” participant type without requiring them to create a new username and password.

Is there a good way to do this? Not sure if we should be archiving or disabling participants, or archiving the participant type as a whole?

 

Thanks for the help!

Best answer by Rebekah Eslao

Hi ​@hannahFC! The best approach really depends on how your cohorts graduate all at once or rolling.

If your whole cohort graduates at the same time:

  • Edit the Cohort X participant type permissions as of that graduation date. Give alumni access to Alumni content and remove access to coursework. Anyone who hasn't graduated yet could be archived from the participant type and be enrolled in a different participant type later if they join a later cohort


If graduation is rolling (people graduate at different times):

  • This gets trickier because the remaining ungraduated people in the cohort still need to finish their coursework. In this case, you'd likely need to move individual participants out of Cohort X into Alumni on a case-by-case basis—which requires a different approach.


To explore the best solution for your workflow: we recommend reaching out to your Account Manager to set up a call with our ASC team. They can help you design a participant type and permission structure that works specifically for your cohort model (whether it's all-at-once or rolling graduations).

You can check the ASC program here! Apricot Packages and Add-Ons | ASC Program Management Bundle | Bonterra Central Community

Hope this helps clarify your options!

4 replies

Rebekah Eslao
Community Manager
August 27, 2026

Hi ​@hannahFC! The best approach really depends on how your cohorts graduate all at once or rolling.

If your whole cohort graduates at the same time:

  • Edit the Cohort X participant type permissions as of that graduation date. Give alumni access to Alumni content and remove access to coursework. Anyone who hasn't graduated yet could be archived from the participant type and be enrolled in a different participant type later if they join a later cohort


If graduation is rolling (people graduate at different times):

  • This gets trickier because the remaining ungraduated people in the cohort still need to finish their coursework. In this case, you'd likely need to move individual participants out of Cohort X into Alumni on a case-by-case basis—which requires a different approach.


To explore the best solution for your workflow: we recommend reaching out to your Account Manager to set up a call with our ASC team. They can help you design a participant type and permission structure that works specifically for your cohort model (whether it's all-at-once or rolling graduations).

You can check the ASC program here! Apricot Packages and Add-Ons | ASC Program Management Bundle | Bonterra Central Community

Hope this helps clarify your options!

Rebekah at Bonterra
hannahFC
hannahFCAuthor
Explorer
August 28, 2026

Thanks for your response ​@Rebekah Eslao ! I can clarify that all of the members of a cohort graduate at the same time. 

If possible, we’d like to have one large “Alumni” participant type that includes graduates from all cohorts, so that we can send alumni-specific forms to everyone at once.

If we archive participants and then re-register them in another group (or alternatively, if we archive an entire participant type and then re-register all of its members in the Alumni group), will they have to create a new password/Connect account?

Rebekah Eslao
Community Manager
August 28, 2026

When you archive and re-enable a participant (or re-register them in a new participant type), they keep their existing Connect login. They will receive a new welcome email, but if that expires, they can always use the Forgot My Password link to reset their password. 😊

Here's a help article with more details on archiving participants: 

 

Rebekah at Bonterra